Swaziland, Africa 2014

Standard

260150_10150238275927505_715167504_7139805_1492111_n

My Story
Three years ago I listened to the voice inside my head that kept whispering, “Africa, Africa.” and took the leap of faith that landed me in Swaziland, Africa. My heart had been yearning to go for years and it was time. I packed up, kissed the family good-bye and boarded the huge plane that would take me on my adventure. I had no idea what I was in store for me.
To say that it changed my life would not give it enough importance. Many of the things I do today are because of that trip: selling handmade purses and totes for the women of Timbali Crafts (a missionary founded business for the women of Swazi to produce their own income), selling my artwork to raise awareness and donations for multiple care points, and praying for the individuals I met and continue to be in relationship with. Swaziland has helped shape me into who I am today.
This year I will be going with Mountain Springs Church (www.mountainsprings.org) and a ministry called Beyond Survival (www.beyondsurvival.org) from July 5th to 17th in order to invest in the lives of these orphaned children and the women that provide for them. This time, I will be bringing my daughter, Hailey with me. She has helped me with selling for Timbali Crafts (visit at timbalicrafts.org) and has had a desire to go ever since I returned. I can’t wait to see how God moves in her heart as I know He will.

Rick's pic<About Swaziland

Never before has there been such a great need for the lives of children and families in Swaziland, Africa. HIV and AIDS are ravaging an entire generation leaving families devastated and children alone. Approximately 46% of Swaziland’s total population is infected with HIV (population is 1.2 million- that is 552,000 people). Because of HIV/AIDS there are over 150,000 orphans and vulnerable children living in Swaziland. Most people are dying at home. Children are attempting to take care of their parents. An entire generation will disappear in the next 5-7 years. The result is a generation of orphans. But we believe God is moving in a remnant of His people and I have an opportunity to partner with them.

2011 06 11 Day 5 Swaziland Tuesday 019 I, along with a team from Beyond Survival, and other churches, will have the opportunity to build a new legacy with your help. We will offer medical clinics, work on needed construction projects, work with an abandoned baby center, provide teacher training and leadership development to the leaders and children there in Swaziland. We will visit and share hope and help with children in other areas and ministries. And that’s just the beginning. The real beauty is in the life-long relationships and real life changes that we are building through a mission trip of this kind.

How you can help

Without you, this mission cannot be successful. I need your support in one or more of following ways. Please give me the opportunity to share with you about the needs in Swaziland and see if this is something you would like to be a part of. Pray for us as we go on this trip. Please consider giving resources or supplies towards this new endeavor or consider supporting me through a financial donation.

For Hailey and I to go we need to raise approximately $3,650 by April 13th and a total of $7,700 by June 29th to cover our land & air costs.

If you would like to partner with me, please make checks payable to ‘Mountain Springs Church’ with Swaziland and my name in the memo, and mail to 4623 Fencer Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80911. If you would prefer, you can now give a donation directly through the church website. Please go to mountainsprings.org and click on giving, click on one-time gift, choose Woodmen campus and my name is listed on the drop down menu. This will directly go towards my trip expenses. All donations go directly to pay for our trip. Please prayerfully consider giving to invest in the lives of children in Swaziland.

 

Rick's pic5

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

